謬論與事實

點擊以下謬論對話框去了解事實!

關於幹細胞及相關醫學問題

幹細胞捐獻者Billy Cheung, 于2004年捐出了自己得骨髓幹細胞。他告訴我們捐贈幹細胞並沒有人們想像的困難。欲了解更多關於Billy的信息,請訪問他的 捐助者簡介.

事實:超過 80% 超過80% 的幹細胞捐獻是通過外周血來提取血幹細胞。這個捐獻方法與捐獻血液類似,整個捐獻過程在一家醫療診所進行且患者並不在場。血液將由針管抽取並流經血液分離機器來提取幹細胞。接著血液將通過插在另外一隻手臂的針管輸回捐獻者體內。少於 20% 的幹細胞捐獻來自骨髓中的腰骨並且整個捐獻過程是在全身麻醉下進行。 因此,捐獻者在整個過程中不會感受到任何疼痛。.

溫馨提示:患者的醫生將根據患者的病情決定最佳的幹細胞捐獻方式。

事實:在骨髓捐獻過程中,幹細胞將在捐獻者的腰骨髂嵴中提取。因此,捐獻者的脊髓將 不會受到任何影響.

事實:我們的身體會在6個星期內生產出新的幹細胞。大多數的捐獻者將在捐獻後數天恢復正常活動。

事實: 骨髓捐獻者在捐獻後將會在後背下部感到一些酸痛。捐獻過幹細胞的捐獻者形容這些酸痛就如同在滑冰時不小心滑倒一般。同時也有報導指出捐獻者在捐獻數天后或者更長時間,將會感到疲憊及行走時會感到一些不適。一些捐獻者的身體需要花上幾個星期來徹底恢復,但絕大部分的捐獻者在捐獻後數天恢復正常活動。據報導,那些通過周邊血來捐獻幹細胞的捐獻者在捐獻後短時間內,身體將出現不同症狀包括頭痛,骨骼或肌肉疼痛,嘔吐,失眠及身體疲勞。然而,這些症狀將在捐獻後數天消失。

事實: 許多不同的疾病及綜合徵可以通過幹細胞移植手術來治愈,其中包括血液相關疾病,如白血病,再生障礙性貧血及免疫系統及代謝紊亂疾病。

事實: 需要幹細胞移植的患者特別需要造血幹細胞,即是未成熟的血細胞。與胚胎幹細胞不同,造血幹細胞具有有限的效力,因為他們可以分化成僅屬於循環系統的細胞。

尋找幹細胞捐獻者

事實:最佳的骨髓捐獻者通常很難尋找到。事實上,在一些極端的例子中,找到最佳捐獻者的機率小到 75萬分之一或者更小。 骨髓登記的目的在於尋找到與患者匹配最佳的捐獻者,從而給予患者最佳的生存機會。對於患者而言,只有從龐大的捐獻登記者庫中才能找到來自不同種族並與自己匹配的捐獻者。這就是為什麼我們鼓勵來自不同種族的人士加入登記。

事實:配對要求非常嚴格,患者只有 不到30% 的機會可以在自己的兄弟姐妹中找到合適的幹細胞捐獻者。 75%的患者需要陌生的幹細胞捐贈者給予他們第二次生命。這就為什麼有必要成立Canadian Blood Services幹細胞及骨髓網絡去招攬那些已準備好向患者捐獻出幹細胞的加籍人士。

關於登記註冊

事實:不幸的是,我們只招攬年齡介於17歲至35歲的加籍人士。最小的捐獻年齡為17歲,這緣於目前的醫學資料顯示17歲為最早及安全的捐獻年齡。此外,最大的捐獻年齡被定為35歲,這緣於研究顯示,年輕捐獻者的幹細胞更能給予患者最長及最佳的生存機會。不過,如果你的條件不符,請閱讀“誤解: 如果我不能夠登記註冊成為幹細胞捐獻者,我將幫助不了患者。”以了解更多有關信息。

事實:雖然我們主要為華人服務,我們仍然非常樂意接受符合條件人士註冊成為潛在幹細胞捐獻者。由於個人基因的複雜性因人而異,個別患者在找尋匹配的捐獻者時可以異常困難。因此不論種族背景,招納更多國人加入加拿大血液服務中心十分重要。

事實:如果您是男士並且年齡介於17歲至35歲,您就被認為是最佳的幹細胞捐獻者。因為您捐獻出的幹細胞能給予患者最佳的生存機會。然而對於患者而言,如果有更多的捐獻者,就有更大的生存希望。因此,我們歡迎年齡介於17歲至35歲的女士加入登記。

事實:作為已在Canadian Blood Services幹細胞庫中登記成為幹細胞捐獻者的人士,您將隨時有權利選擇退出登記庫。然而我們懇請您知道,如果您在幹細胞捐獻過程中選擇退出,這很可能就意味著一名患者因此失去重獲生命的機會。在患者進行幹細胞手術移植之前,他們通常被給予大量的放射性治療及化學治療,以此來摧毀骨髓裡的癌細胞。如果捐獻者此時不能夠及時向患者捐獻出必要的幹細胞,患者將沒有足夠的白細胞去抵抗體內的病菌。介於這個原因,我們鼓勵您在加入登記之前,請深思熟慮。

事實:即便您不能在Canadian Blood Services上註冊成為幹細胞捐獻者,還有很多事情您可以幫助到患者。

  1. 傳播幹細胞登記註冊的消息。請把我們需要17歲至35歲的青年男子加入幹細胞登記庫的消息告訴您的家人及朋友。同時,您也可以登錄訪問我們的 Twitter!
  2. 關注我們的 Facebook官方頁面。每收到一個“關注”,我們就能從贊助商那裡得到1塊錢的讚助費。
  3. 獻血Canadian Blood Services 加拿大血液服務中心進行幹細胞移植手術的病人每個星期需要8袋血液(這很多!)。獻血者的要求與幹細胞捐獻者的要求並不同。如果您符合要求,我們鼓勵您去獻血以此幫助更多的患者。
  4. 捐贈您的臍帶血Canadian Blood Services 加拿大血液服務中心。臍帶血幹細胞移植能用來治療50多種血液疾病,捐獻臍血非常簡單。詳情請瀏覽 Canadian Blood Services官方網站.
  5. 義工活動 由於我們多數的活動在夏天舉行,所以我們非常期待您成為我們的志願者。
  6. 給我們提供 財政幫助
    請登錄Get Involved.頁面,訪問更多關於此方面的消息。
zh_HKChinese
en_USEnglish zh_HKChinese

Myths & Facts

Click on the bubbles below to find out the common Myths and the Facts behind them!

Tell me more about stem cell donation and medical concerns.

Stem cell donor Billy Cheung, who donated his stem cells through his bone marrow in 2004 tells us how easy it is to donate stem cells nowadays. For more information about Billy, please visit his Donor Profile.

Fact: Approximately 80% of stem cell donations come from peripheral blood. This method is similar to donating blood and it is done in an outpatient clinic. Blood is extracted through a needle and is passed through a machine that collects the stem cells. The remaining blood is returned to the donor’s body through the other arm. 20% of stem cell donations come from the bone marrow of the pelvic bone. This procedure is done under general anesthesia. The donor does not experience pain during either procedure.

Note: The patient’s doctor will decide which type of donation is best for the patient.

Fact: During bone marrow donations, stem cells are collected from the iliac crest of the pelvic bone so the donor’s spinal cord is unaffected.

Fact:The body replaces the stem cells within six weeks. After donating, most donors are back to their usual routine in a few days.

Fact: Bone marrow donors can expect to feel some soreness in their lower back. Donors have likened it to the same soreness one gets if he/she were to slip and fall on ice. There have also been reports of donors feeling tired and having some discomfort walking for a couple of days or longer. Most donors are back to their usual routine in a few days. Some may take a few weeks before they feel completely recovered. Peripheral blood stem cell donors report varying symptoms including headache, bone or muscle pain, nausea, insomnia and fatigue but these effects disappear shortly after donating.

Fact: A wide variety of diseases and disorders are treated with stem cell transplants, including blood-related diseases, such as leukemia and aplastic anemia, as well as immune system and metabolic disorders.

Fact: Patients who are in need of stem cell transplants specifically require hematopoietic stem cells which are immature blood cells. Unlike embryonic stem cells, hematopoietic stem cells have a limited potency as they can only differentiate into cells that belong to the circulatory system.

Is it easy to find a matching donor?

Fact: A perfect bone marrow match isn’t always available. In fact, in extreme cases, the odds of a match may be as little as one in 750,000 or less. (That’s like your chances of being struck by lightning!) The goal of searching bone marrow registries is to find the best available unrelated matches, giving patients the greatest possible chance of a positive outcome. And the only way to find these matches is to search a large pool of potential donors with varied ethnic and racial backgrounds. This is why we encourage people of varying ethnic origins to become registrants in the stem cell donor registry.

Fact: The requirements for finding a match are so precise that only about 25% of those in need can receive a transplant from a sibling in their own family. 75% of patients still need to rely on a total stranger to give them a second chance at life. That is why there is the Canadian Blood Services Stem Cell and Marrow Network – a network of Canadians who are ready to donate to any patient in need.

What are the myths about becoming a stem cell donor?

Fact: Unfortunately, we are only accepting potential registrants between the ages of 17-35. The minimum age for donation is 17 as current medical information tells us that 17 is the earliest age to safely donate. (We have this regulation in place because the safety of the donor is extremely important to us.) The maximum age for potential registrants is set at 35 because research indicates that younger donors are associated with better long-term survival rates for patients. However, if you are not eligible to become a member of the registry, please read the following myth below: “If I can’t register as a potential donor, I can’t help the cause” to learn more about how you can still help our cause.

Fact: Although our focus is on the Chinese community, we are more than happy to register anyone who fits the criteria for becoming a potential stem cell donor. This is because any individual can have difficulty finding a matching donor, depending on the complexity of the genetic typing they have inherited. That’s why it’s important for as many Canadians – no matter what their ethnic background – to join Canadian Blood Services.

Fact: If you are a male between the ages of 17-35, you’re considered an optimal stem cell donor because stem cells from young male donors offer better long-term survival rates for patients. However, all donors represent more hope for patients around the world and so females between the ages of 17-35 are also welcomed to join the registry.

Fact: As a registrant of the Canadian Blood Services stem cell registry, you will always have the right to say no. However, please recognize that if you withdraw from the stem cell donation process, you may put the patient’s life in jeopardy. To prepare for a transplant, the recipient is usually given high doses of radiation and/or chemotherapy to destroy the diseased bone marrow. If the donor does not follow through with providing the patient with the necessary stem cells, the patient will not have enough white blood cells to protect his/her system against surrounding bacteria. For this reason, we encourage you to be informed and committed before becoming a registrant in the stem cell donor registry.

Fact: Even if you aren’t registered with Canadian Blood Services, there are still many things you can do to help patients in need!

  1. Spread the word. Tell your friends and family that men between the ages of 17-35 are needed in the stem cell donor registry. You can also follow us on Twitter!
  2. Like our Facebook page. For every “like” we get, we receive $1 from our sponsor.
  3. Donate blood with Canadian Blood Services. Patients undergoing stem cell transplants require 8 units of blood per week. (That’s a lot!) The restrictions for registration as a blood donor are different from stem cell donation so we encourage you to see if you are eligible.
  4. Donate your baby’s cord blood with Canadian Blood Services. Cord blood stem cell transplants are used for treating over 50 blood related diseases and disorders and you can donate publicly in four easy steps. To find out more, please refer to the official Canadian Blood Services website.
  5. Volunteer with OtherHalf. We get busy during the summer so all help is welcomed!
  6. Give a financial gift to OtherHalf.
    For more details on how to contribute to the cause, please visit Get Involved.
en_USEnglish
zh_HKChinese en_USEnglish